FIRST BRACKET PREDICTION

Posted: March 2, 2013 in Uncategorized

Okay, so I’ve posted a “Tournament Projections” page, which shows which teams the computer has in the Big Dance. But now that the season is winding down, I’ve mixed in a little human intuition to christen this glorious month with my first full bracket prediction. As it stands right now, three teams that the DPI has in did not make my cut – Southern Miss, La Salle, and BYU. In their place is Iowa State, Virginia, and Villanova. This is based off the differences in the conferences mostly, but also just a gut feeling. I took liberties with seeding, trying to emulate the Selection Committee’s tendencies to avoid conference match-ups in the first few rounds, as well as games played earlier this season. With all that in mind, I’m proud to bring you my March Madness bracket. I encourage your feedback! Tell me how wrong I got it!

March 2 Bracket

(click to enlarge)

LAST EIGHT IN (At-Larges #30-#37): Oklahoma, Temple, Tennessee, Virginia, Ole Miss, Iowa State, Illinois, Villanova

FIRST EIGHT OUT (At-Larges #38-45): Alabama, Southern Miss, La Salle, BYU, Boise State, Baylor, Maryland, Arizona State

BIDS BY CONF #
America East 1
Atlantic 10 4
Atlantic Coast 5
Atlantic Sun 1
Big 12 5
Big East 8
Big Sky 1
Big South 1
Big Ten 7
Big West 1
Colonial 1
Conference USA 1
Horizon 1
Ivy League 1
Metro Atlantic 1
Mid-American 1
Mid-Eastern 1
Missouri Valley 2
Mountain West 4
Northeast 1
Ohio Valley 1
Pacific 12 5
Patriot 1
Southeastern 5
Southern 1
Southland 1
Southwestern 1
Summit 1
Sun Belt 1
West Coast 2
Western 1

Oh, and just in case you’re still reading… here’s how I see this particular bracket playing out.

Download the bracket and submit your own!

March 2 Bracket

Comments
  1. Eric Frisbee says:

    hey, thanks for the comments over on my site. I like what you have set up here, and I like the projection. Personally, I think Kentucky would be down on the 11 line currently, and while Tennessee is at least headed in the right direction, I’m not sure if they’re in just yet. I’ve got La Salle pretty solidly in the field in their place. Definitely will be interesting to see how it actually shakes out though.

Leave a Reply

